“If I have a problem, like the employer doesn’t pay the wages, I just find another job.”

The Labor Law Clinic conducts home visits every month in the Mae Sot area. In March 2016, LLC staff visited a group of migrants living in Ban Song Kawe village, where Oo Win Nai lives.

“I just do my work,” Oo Win Nai says. “If I have a problem like the employer doesn’t pay the wages, I just find another job. I don’t like to complain to any organization because I don’t want to make things complicated. I just want to stay peaceful.”

This approach is very common among migrants. Thailand is not their home, so they often don’t know the rules or how to solve problems. LLC’s home visits seek to enhance migrants’ understanding of their rights, labor laws, and how to act if their rights are violated.

Leave a Reply

